The Darkest Place


This is the darkest place I know,
From which all darknesses seem to flow,
It’s in my heart, and in my mournful glare,
This darkness, it is everywhere.

Tell me of a place, somewhere long ago,
A place where no human dared to go,
Tell me of it’s darkness, and of it’s strange light,
And how it seemed to escape from our sight.

Maybe that’s where darkness ends,
After all these minds it rends,
In a place no one can see,
A land untouched by you, or me.

Please tell me, where is this land,
A place as gentle as the touch of a hand,
As fair as the flowers blooming in spring,
As clear as a melody’s beautiful ring.

If this place is simply not here,
Can we make one up, my dear?
Can we exist in an imaginary place?
Can we survive in the smile on your face?

How could this land possibly be real?
If I know, my lips are sealed,
For I’m in a place where humans dare not to go,
And this is the darkest place I know.

Leave a Reply

