What am I?


I smile all day,
And cry all night,
All through this pain,
Until first light.

And through the pain,
I somehow find,
A way through this shame,
When I’m so blind.

I cannot live through this,
And yet cannot die,
I cannot compromise,
I can only lie.

I lie about everything,
About who I am,
I lie about anything,
But who’d give a damn?

So what am I?
A good question to ask,
My life feels like a sigh,
My face is a mask.

Who or what, I can’t be sure,
I no longer know myself you see,
I have experienced pain I can no longer ignore,
I won’t ever know now, the real me.

Leave a Reply

