Mirror


Is that me,

That girl in the mirror,

Staring back,

So vacantly?

I don’t think so.

Is that me,

When she smiles,

Like nothing’s wrong,

So perfect?

Is that me,

When she sings,

So happily,

How can it be?

Is that me,

When she whispers,

“I’m okay,”

For the very last time?

Is that me,

When she pretends,

In her last defence,

Of her lasting grace?

Is that me,

Trying to be someone she’s not,

Crying all the while,

Dying inside?

She’s not me,

She can’t be.

She doesn’t look like me,

Not at all.

Leave a Reply

