I smiled at her as I sat down next to her.  She rolled her eyes.  “You’re digging your own grave,” she growled.  I shrugged.  “I know.”  We didn’t talk much after that.  She looked so lonely sitting here all by herself.  She was one of the ‘unpopular’ girls that were always ridiculed for absolutely no reason at all, and I didn’t like how girls like her were treated like that.  I wanted to show everybody that everyone should be included in everything, but some of the girls at our school didn’t really take to that idea.  I guess that they just wanted to continue their glamourous shallow lives.  I also think that some people may think that I’m a hippie or something, but that’s just a stereotype.  I hate stereotypes.  Trying to make polite conversation, I said, “Do you like this school?”  She spat on the table to show her appreciation for the school and said, “Like it? Pah!  I don’t think anyone could like this school!  It’s full of dumb cliques and shallow dimwits!  The few nice people in the school who were my friends moved away months ago.  At least they have sense.  And if you had any sense, you would have left this school the very first day you came!”  I decided that it was best not to tread on delicate subjects like school.  Maybe talking about her home life wouldn’t be a great idea either.  “So… what are your hobbies?”  I asked politely.  “I don’t really have any hobbies.”  she grumbled.  “But there must be something you like to do!”  I persisted.  She thought for a minute.  “Well,” she began thoughtfully, “I do kind of like sports.  Like, swimming and stuff.  What about you?”  I think she was just being polite with the ‘what about you’ part, because when I said, “Singing and dancing,” she looked like she wasn’t listening.  Actually, she looked like she was listening to someone else.  To get her attention, I asked, “Are you okay?”  She nearly jumped out of her skin.  I must have startled her, but she didn’t reply.  “Okay then, bye.”  I said.  Usually, I wouldn’t move away so soon, but the way she acted was just weird.  One horrible thought that entered my mind was, no wonder she doesn’t have any friends.  I tried to dismiss that thought, because I didn’t want to become as shallow as all of those other girls at this school.  As I walked away, I heard her mutter, “Was somebody just here?”  I felt truly sorry for her.

Leave a Reply

