Sweet Relief


Murderer, whispers a voice in my head.  I scream.  “I didn’t mean to!  It was an accident!”  I clawed at my face with my scraggly nails, drawing perfect, red beads of blood onto my fingertips.  This blood is compensation for the blood she lost.  Tears streamed down my cheeks, and, sobbing I grabbed a knife.  It was a crazy thought, but I knew I needed to be punished for her death.  It wasn’t like I meant to kill her; we were just being foolish.  It was a class excursion to the waterfalls our town was so famous for.  We were having a particularly fun tickle fight, and the teachers had warned us about not going too close to the waterfall.  Of course, we didn’t listen.  We played to the end of the falls, where she lost her footing and fell.  I can still hear her screams.  They haunt my nightmares, which is why I can never get any sleep anymore.  Now I knew it was either death or nothing.  Her death ruined my life.  I will never forgive myself for what I did.  My life was now so empty without her gossip, her giggling.  I closed my eyes and plunged the knife into my chest.  Blood was now flowing everywhere.  A darkness enveloped me, and ripped me of emotions.  I felt one last emotion before the end.  Sweet relief.

Leave a Reply

