Daddy’s Special Day


Dear Daddy,

Happy 50th Birthday!  What’s it like in Florida?  I can’t wait to come see you there!  Mummy says I can come next holidays.

I’m doing great with school and I’m bursting to show you my excellent grades.  Mummy is really proud of me and I hope

you are too!

What next?  Kaylie struggled with letters to her Dad.  She had only met him once and that was when he came over for Christmas last year.  Kaylie had a small, impish face, with curly blonde hair and chocolate brown eyes to die for.  She was only in her second year of school, but she was excelling in all areas.  Kaylie thought as hard as she could, trying desperately to come up with another two sentences at least.

5o years is a long time to live.  Do you think I would live that long?  As I’m only seven, I have a long way to go!

Love Kaylie.

She finished in her messy scrawl and held up her letter proudly.  “Mummy!  Mummy!”  she shouted, running down the stairs to show her Mum the letter.  Kathryn Crispt was a beautiful woman, only thirty-five, with blonde curly hair and big blue eyes.  She laughed and her blonde curls bounced up and down.  “I finished the letter to Daddy!”  “Okay then, lets see it.”  said Kathryn, searching the bench for her reading glasses.  She quickly read it and passed it back to Kaylie.  “That’s excellent sweetie.  Now don’t forget to find an envelope to seal it with.”  Kathryn smiled.  Kaylie beamed proudly and bounced off to find an envelope.  When she did, she stuffed the letter into it and licked it to seal the envelope.  A few days later, a letter arrived from her Dad.  Kaylie could only read out loud, very slowly, but she always enjoyed reading letters from Daddy.

Dearest Kaylie,

Thank you for that beautiful letter.  Florida is amazing.  I’m right on the beachfront.  I can’t wait until you finally come.  

I’m proud to hear that your grades are good.  I think you will make it to 5o years.  I’m very proud of you.  I might be able

to make it this weekend, for my birthday.

Love Daddy.

Kaylie’s Dad was always travelling.  From Spain, to France, to Florida, he was never home.  It was news to Kaylie when she read the last sentence and she started squealing uncontrollably.  Her Mother came in to see what the fuss was about and Kaylie handed her the letter.  Kathryn scanned it and smiled, glad.  She missed Kaylies father Mitchel terribly.

At school, Kaylie couldn’t concentrate.  All she could think about was her Father’s visit.  When the last bell sounded finally, she grabbed her bag and rushed out.  She came home to find her Dad, as promised.  “Daddy!”  she squealed, hugging him tight.  She made her Daddy’s special day was even more special.

Leave a Reply

