Spooked


June 6, that was the night it happened.  The night it all went wrong.  I still can’t get my head around what happened, though it happened nearly a year ago.  Ever since then, I’ve been seeing strange and scary things.  

When the bell rang for school, I looked up, closing the book I was reading.  I saw Kyrie, my  best friend since kindergarten, skipping towards me, her long auburn hair flying up behind her.  “Guess who got tickets for the  Fallen Angel’s concert?”  she announced proudly.  “You’re joking.  I’ve heard those are nearly impossible to get!”  squealed Haylie, coming up behind me.  I gave a little start.  “You have got to stop sneaking up on us like that.”  I scolded.  Haylie just shrugged and took one of the three tickets Kyrie was holding out for us.  I took another one.  “We’re all going tonight, and you’d better look your best, or else.”  Kyrie said, smiling conspiratorially.  Haylie and I nodded, and we linked arms and walked to class.  At lunch, we sat together, chatting animatedly about the Fallen Angel concert.  Since we were all really excited, we barely ate a thing.

 

As soon as I got home that afternoon, I started choosing an outfit.  I tried on at least ten outfits, discarding one after the other, until it was down to two outfits.  I couldn’t decide between the two, so I texted Haylie, the fashionista of the group:  

 

Hi Haylie,  which outfit do you think I should wear?

 

I sent her a picture of me wearing each of the outfits.  One outfit consisted of a red tank top, a hot pink mini-skirt and pink heels.  The other was a bright blue camisole, blue denim shorts, and a pair of joggers. Haylie instantly texted me back:

 

Definitely the second one.

 

I had to agree.  There was still an hour before the concert.  Just enough time to prepare. I thought.  I was eating dinner when the phone rang.  “Hello?”  I said picking up the phone.  No-


 

 

one answered.  That’s strange I thought, hanging up.  When I heard Kyrie’s car pull up in the driveway, I did a quick last minute check in the mirror.  My short blonde hair framed my pale face and bright blue eyes, and my blue camisole was neatly ironed.  Just as I finished adjusting the straps, I heard a knock on the door. I went out to greet Kyrie and hopped into her car.  This was going to be the best night of my life.

When we got to the concert, Haylie was already there waiting for us, and the concert was in full swing.  “Why is it always so loud?”  I shouted over the music.  Haylie just laughed and said, “You know you’re getting old when live music is too loud for you!  Just enjoy yourself Mikky!”  I had to admit she was right.  About halfway through the next song, Devil’s Conscience, I looked around.  Instead of screaming fans or people dancing, I saw hideous masks.  I glanced at my friends to see if they saw it.  They didn’t.  It didn’t take me long to realize that they weren’t masks, but in fact real faces.  I screamed, and not because I liked the song.  I ran to the exit, but no-one let me out.  One strangely thin and delicate looking woman said, “Sorry, sweetie, you’re in our world now.”  I hurried to the bathroom.  Once in there, I panted, vomiting into a toilet.

 

  There was only one girl inside the bathroom.  Where are all the girls reapplying makeup, or worrying about their hair?  I wondered.  She looked at me sympathetically.  “Did you see it too?”  she said.  I stared at her in confusion.  “What?”  “Their faces.  They were horrible weren’t they?”  she said.  I nodded.  “What’s with that?”  I asked.  “It’s sort of like a curse.  When the Fallen Angel’s concert comes to Australia, many people go to it.  Now we’re all trapped.”  the girl looked generally sad.   Suddenly, the sadness disappeared from the girl’s face.  “I’m sorry… curse my bad manners.  I’m Alicia.”  she said.  She pronounced it Ah-lee-see-ah.  I acknowledged it by saying, “Nice to meet you.  I’m Mikky,” I said, “I’m not gonna give up!  I’m gonna find a way outta here and nothing’s gonna stop me!”  I had a sudden 

 

 

 

 

thought.  “Alicia, how long have you been here?”  “About one hundred years.  Why?”  I tried to suppress my fear as I gathered my thoughts.  Alicia had been at this ‘concert‘ for one hundred years and hadn’t aged a day.  “Mikky?  Mikky!  Snap out of it!”  Alicia clicked her fingers, snapping me back to reality.  “Please don’t turn into one of them!  Not you too!”  I shot her a look of confusion mixed with fear.  She read my expression and heaved a sigh of relief.  I speed-walked out of the restroom, and she followed, and we passed Haylie and Kyrie on our way.  “We’re leaving.”  I said to them.  “Awwww… but we just got here.”  whined Kyrie.  I glanced at my watch.  We had been at the concert for three hours.  I led them to the restroom, and they blinked, disorientated, as if they had just woken form a trance.  Alicia understood immediately.  “They can’t hear the music in the bathroom.  That’s why they’re out of their trance!”  I suggested that we should block our ears with toilet paper and they all agreed.  We charged out of the toilet and onto the stage, while the Fallen Angels were performing one of  their songs.  I snatched the microphone out of the lead singer’s hand, and the music stopped.  everyone looked around dazed.  I explained to them about the curse, and lead the rampaging crowd to the gates.  Without the music, the curse was powerless.  However, Some people disappeared as they passed.  I caught a glimpse of Alicia as she disappeared.  “Good-bye, Mikky.”  she whispered.  I never saw Alicia again.  Maybe it was for the best.             

 

Leave a Reply

